Rogue Trainers
Rogue Trainers


If you’re considering a package, check carefully what’s included – many include courses that are not essential or suitable for new entrants and are not required for ECS card applications, or recognition under the Electrotechnical Assessment Specification (EAS).

We strongly advise you not to pay out for expensive packages of training which tie you in and often contain unnecessary courses or qualifications.

Don’t be taken in by terms like ‘Professional Electrician’ or ‘Full Scope Electrician’- these are not official terms and most of these contain a mix of knowledge qualifications and other courses that are best taken only once you have qualified.

Take a look at our advice below on the qualifications commonly found in these ‘bundles’ and what they actually provide. You can also download this advice as a PDF:

Domestic Electrical Installer (DEI) Certificate

This is the ‘5 day wonder’. Basic knowledge and skills in a classroom setting

There is NO industry recognition for this qualification.

Level 3 Certificate in the Building Regulations for Electrical Installations in Dwellings

This is a Knowledge qualification that provides awareness of Approved Document P: Electrical Safety, dwellings.

It is not required for industry recognition as an Electrician.

Level 3 Award in Requirements for Electrical Installations

Awareness of BS 7671:2018 Requirements for Electrical Installations (IET Wiring Regulations, 18th Edition).

Covers technical knowledge only on how to interpret the requirements.

This is required for qualified electrician status and multiple options are available, including self-study and exam only.

This is already integrated within the electrical apprenticeships and NVQ.

Level 3 Portable Appliance Testing (PAT) Qualification

This is a CPD (ongoing development once qualified) style course for portable appliance testing.

It is not required for industry recognition as an Electrician.

Level 3 Award in the Initial Verification and Certification of Electrical Installations

This is required for industry recognition as an Electrician but is usually integrated within a Level 3 vocational training route such as the apprenticeship or NVQ.

Is required for the Experienced Worker Assessment (EWA) process.

It should be taken within or alongside more detailed technical training.

Level 2 Certificate in Fundamental Inspection & Testing

This is not required for industry recognition as an Electrician.

Level 3 Award in Periodic Inspection, Testing & Certification of Electrical Installations

This is a CPD qualification intended as further development for qualified electricians. It is not suitable for beginners.

Watch our Videos

Take a look at these videos where people tell their story of being unhappy with their training experience.

Tell us your story!

Have you been led down the wrong path? Tell us your story! to help us in the campaign against Rogue Trainers.